New ministers sworn in


TWO new cabinet ministers and six deputies took their oath office before President Emmerson Mnangagwa following last week’s reshuffle as the administration moves to arrest the deteriorating economic environment.

First to take the oath was newly National Housing and Social Amenities minister Daniel Garwe followed by Jenfan Muswere who takes charge at the Information Communication Technology and Courier Service ministry. Before his elevation, Muswere was deputy in the ministry.

Six deputy ministers who took oath of office are Marian Chombo (Local Government), David Musabayana (Foreign Affairs), Clement Chiduwa (Finance and Economic Development), Dingimuzi Phuti (Information Communication Technology and Courier Service), Raymore Machingura (Higher and Tertiary Education, Science and Technology Development) and Tinoda Machakarika (Youth Sports, Arts and Recreation).

Speaking to journalists, Garwe said he has over 30 years’ experience   in the construction industry was looking forward   to put his professional   experience as an engineer into government business.

“My ministry is now responsible for housing construction and I am going to carry out my ministerial mandate fully as I was briefed by the President to do my work to help the country in constructing houses for the population,” Garwe said.

Muswere said he was excited by the new portfolio.

“In the new administration with President Mnangagwa we are talking about economic development and ICT will help us to achieve this goal,” Muswere said.

President Mnangagwa reshuffled his Cabinet on Friday which saw some ministers changing portfolios.  Kazembe Kazembe was appointed Home Affairs minister replacing Cain Mathema who was moved to the ministry of Primary and Secondary Education.

Paul Mavima was moved from Primary and Secondary Education to head the ministry of Public Service, Labour and Social Welfare. Former Public Service minister Sekesai Nzenza was moved to the Industry and Commerce ministry replacing Mangaliso Ndlovu who was appointed minister of Environment, Climate Change, Tourism and Hospitality Industry.


Leave a Reply

Back to top button