Staff Writer 

President Emmerson Mnangagwa’s special advisor Chris Mutsvangwa, former War Veterans minister Tshinga Dube and Finance and Economic Development minister Patrick Chinamasa were some of the major political heavyweights who lost during Mondays general elections.

But their losses were not enough to stop a rejuvenated Zanu PF from garnering a two thirds majority in parliament with 155 seats out of 210 constituencies (based on the last results announcement yesterday afternoon).

The fall of the heavyweights could present headaches for President Emmerson Mnangagwa should he emerge victorious in the elections although he has already said that some of his ministers would be deployed to the party on a full time basis.

Other high profile losers in the polls include deputy Finance minister Terrence Mukupe who lost to firebrand MDC Alliance senior partner and former Finance minister Tendai Biti in the race for the Harare East constituency. Biti also beat Obert Gutu of the Thokozani Khupe-led MDC.

Former Labour minister Petronella Kagonye also lost the polls to an MDC Alliance candidate.

Mnangagwa’s ally and Zanu PF Midlands heavyweight July Moyo who served as Local Government minister before the harmonised elections lost the polls to MDC Alliance’s Dzikamai Mukapiko in the Redcliff constituency.

Mukapiko had been nominated to represent the MDC Alliance through the youth quota system.

Dube lost his Makokoba constituency seat to the MDC Alliance.

It was in Norton where media attention was focused on, as Mutsvangwa was pummeled by self-styled corruption buster Temba Mliswa. Mliswa celebrated his victory on social media.

The National Assembly will also welcome new entrants. Some of the entrants include banker Ozias Bvute, musician Energy Mutodi and cricket administrator Tavengwa Mukuhlani among others.